Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In this increasingly interdependent world, businesses and students, to enhance their living standards, have to travel abroad to different foreign countries in which languages and cultural identities significantly vary. Therefore, it is commonly believed that an unfamiliar lingual environment would lead to several problems in communication skills. While travelers might initially face an abundance of issues in society, I am of the opinion that they would soon adapt and be acquainted with the lingual and cultural diversity.

On the one hand, it is partially true that people who first come to a foreign nation could be overwhelmed and stressed by the burden of mastering a new language. As a consequence they could be hyperbolic about this stress, leading to the way of communicating being seriously affected. For instance, according to recent surveys, a majority of exchange students to European countries admitted that they needed a lot of time to catch the native’s speed of talking and accent. Thus, this results in their social communication being discouraged and worse relationships between them and their surrounding neighborhoods.

On the other hand, I believe that human's survival instinct can help break down the language barrier. To be more specific, it is proven by scientists and anthropologists that human have an infinite instinct to foster themselves to survive the difficulties or even fatal danger, let alone the struggle of learning another language. Hence, people who encounter obstacles in acquiring a language will soon be accustomed to the local environment. Furthermore in this day and age, people, or learners could use their smart devices to aid them in having conversations and even support them to be excel in certain languages, thanks to the highly advanced technology.

In summary, whereas the belief in the inclination of facing social problems is understandable as people long for time to be adept in using a new language, I strongly hold the view that human instinct, along with cutting-edge gadgets, would incentive them to learn and adapt faster.