Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There is no doubt that living abroad has become commonplace in the light of globalization. However, a school of thought holds that people living overseas often suffer from social and practical trouble. In this essay, I will examine the problems associated with this trend before looking at some of its benefits.

On the one hand, individuals moving to another country are likely to face language barrier, which has a negative bearing on their lives. Difficulties in using proper language to contact may creat confusing atmosphere and misunderstanding from people around them. Gradually, immigrants would become reluctant to cultivate social connection or make friends. another challenge of not being able to speak native language proficiently could also lead to discrimination, bullying or a sense of alienation among people abroad. As a result, they isolate themselves from local community. it is inextricable that people living overseas have their own flaws, which take a heavy toll on especially those who are not adept at foreign tongue.

On the other hand, living in another country is not without benefits. if people make a brave attempt to overcome language obstacles that they run into in another country, not only could they alleviate their unwillingness of communicating but also socialise more. Moreover, those abroad are daily exposed to the local language, so they often learn it infinitely easier than those in their own nations. Therefore, social and practical troubles mostly happen in the beginning and they could be tackled if non-native speakers learn foreign language regularly.

In conclusion, regardless of social and practical problems, such as language barrier, that people overseas are likely to have, it could be addressed if they make an effort to learn foreign tongue.