Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There is no doubt that living abroad has become commonplace in the light of globalization. However, a school of thought holds that people when living in a different country often suffer from social and practical trouble. In this essay, I will examine the problems associated with this trend before looking at some of its benefits.

On a societal level, individuals moving to another country are likely to face the language barrier, which has a negative bearing on their lives. Difficulties in using proper language in conversation may create a confusing atmosphere and misunderstanding from people around them. Gradually, they would be reluctant to cultivate social connection or make friends, even become a target for bullying by surrounding local people. Therefore, not being adept at a foreign language is indeed challenging for outlanders to integrate into society.

On a practical level, non-native speakers could run into some problems. Their misuse of a foreign language in tandem with differences with indigenous customs would make the locals occasionally try in vain to understand what they want to convey. As a result, non-native residents tend to lose opportunities in life, especially in their career. Towards those who are dying for promotion prospect, lack of knowledge about a foreign language can become a big obstacle to scale the heights.

In conclusion, it is inextricable that people overseas who are not master in a foreign language be likely to face social and practical troubles. However, this issue can be addressed if they make an effort to learn it.