Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Once upon a time students and immigrants found it very difficult to sustain and establish in a foreign country due to unaware of the local language. But this problem is not observed nowadays for many reasons, especially for the compulsory language skill requirement.

At about 10-15 years ago, visa requirements in most of the countries were not as strict as now. So, it was very easy for the students and others to move to a foreign country. These people did not need to be skilled in the local foreign language, not even in English, which is a global language. As a result, most of them used to face many problems, for example, they could not understand the language of the foreigners clearly or they could not share their problems effectively with others. Due to not understanding the local language, most employers did not want to offer them jobs.

But these problems are very trivial nowadays. Not only is it a compulsory requirement to pass English language test, like IELTS, to move in English speaking countries, but it is also a must-have requirement in many non-English speaking countries, like Sweden and Germany. As a result, even if foreigners do not know the specific local language, they can easily share their messages by speaking English. Besides, more and more countries have been focusing on developing the English language skill of the people, and consequently, fluency in English is good in many countries, for example, 90% of the Swedish are fluent in English. So it is very easy to communicate with foreigners in English.

In conclusion, problems derived from the linguistic differences are no longer faced by the immigrants. Before applying for visa, people are to prove English language skill that results in fluent communication in a foreign country.