Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Many people think that children should not focus on learning a foreign language from primary school. Although there are some kinds of difficulties in learning a foreign language from an early stage, I believe the advantages of this are much more than disadvantages.

To begin with the disadvantages, first of all, it affects the others subjects in the schools. Learning a new language is very difficult for children and so they are to give more time in this new language. The critical subjects, like Mathematics or Physics, require more attention to pass which would not be possible if students remain very busy with foreign language. As a result, their grades will be lower in other subjects. Besides children brains are immature at the primary stage, that means it will be difficult for them to learn a non-native language effectively. At their secondary stages, they will feel more comfortable in learning a non-native language.

However, primary school period is still a perfect time for learning a non-native language. In this time, they have the high level of curiosity about learning which is the prerequisite for learning a new language and curiosity will diminish as they become older. The curiosity for learning new things makes them concentrate highly on new topics, resulting in a solid understanding of a non-native language. Besides, the high amount of time that they get in their primary stage to develop grammar of a non-native language will not be found in the secondary stage as the length of their study syllabus will be much bigger in the secondary stage.

To conclude, although learning a new language from the primary stage may be strenuous for some children, this is the perfect time to develop the basics of a non-native language, and the disadvantages of this are much less than advantages.