Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It goes without saying that in the modern era we live in, where communication plays a pivotal role in the world, it comes as no surprise that language is the momentous key factor to make a relationship in any form. In my opinion, people may face new challenges in terms of foreign language and I agree with the statement largely. I feel this way because it makes a misunderstanding. In addition, non-native people give information in an unsuitable way. However, the statement leaves some unanswered cases such as improving knowledge by non-native people. I will elaborate on these reasons in the following essay.

To begin with, misunderstanding is a common happening in a foreign society. In this context, although non-native people try their best to communicate with native people, they may give unpleasant feedbacks. My own experience is a compelling example of this. When I was a student at the university, I talked to my friend one day about our session faculties. Our professor talked about a research plan. I used “argue” instead of “discuss”. Then my friend supposed there was a serious dispute on that session. Hence, I think non-native people do not know about the right use of some vocabularies and make a misunderstanding.

Secondly, non-native people may encounter a problem to convey information. From this perspective, they do not know all the foreign words, idioms, proverbs, and slangs. As a case in point, one day I was in the university library and was studying to prepare the final exam. Suddenly, a friend of mine came to me and told me: ”You are a real bookworm!”. I was surprised by the meaning of the bookworm. After that, I noticed that his meaning was a person studies a lot. Therefore, I suppose that non-native people will face challenged in a foreign country because of their limited circle of language knowledge.

Third, by contrast, I take a dim view of the statement. Without reservation, non-native people can improve their language knowledge before arriving at a new country. For example, “Youtube” is a popular network provides many educational matters. Thus, people have a golden opportunity to learn a foreign language in a good way.

In conclusion, I believe that non-native people may meet a hard time in terms of alien language. This is because of miscalculating. Moreover, nothing to have a comprehensive language knowledge