Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is considered that we could face obstacles both socially and practically while staying in a foreign country where we should learn a local language to communicate. I completely agree with the idea above.

At first, without learning a local language, it is likely to be difficult to involve deeply in the local community. For example, when I stayed in Bosnia and Herzegovina, I had several local friends since I understood the language they use. When we hung out, they introduced me the places where only locals know. Without these friends, I would have never visited these places and also missed local cultural activities which is not in the tour guide book without them. On the other hands, my friend who was also from a foreign country and did not study any local language spent most of the time alone at home. She regretted not taking a language course earlier.

Secondly, it is obvious that we would be in trouble for living in the country without learning a local language. when we use a public transportation, buy some food, find an accommodation, and even ask the direction, we should know the language which is used in the country where we are. Of course, it could be possible to use a sign language or a drawing, however, there must be a limitation to understand each other with them. Therefore it is highly recommended obtaining at least a survival language skill before going abroad. Though it sometimes seems that the people who speaks English can stay wherever they want, it is said that we could spend a fruitful period of staying with understanding a local language.

In conclusion, speaking a foreign language is critical for staying abroad for a daily life and a socialization as well.