A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not managed correctly.

Describe the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world. Do you think that benefits of tourism outweight its drawbacks?

Tourism has been playing an indispensable part in our society for many decades. However, this can take its toll on a nation’s well-being when traveling is not properly controlled. Personally, I believe that the benefits of tourism can totally overperform the drawbacks due to enormous advantages it brings to our world

On the one hand, tourism can be the main threat of environmental destruction and cultural loss. In detail, when a place of interest is overcrowded, the natural ambiance often becomes exploited. For instance, the influx of tourists flocking to one place can lead to a large amount of gas emitted by transportations with numerous plastic wastes being littered, together they become immensely deteriorated to the biodiversity. Moreover, many traditional jobs and skills like fishing or farming are really vulnerable and potentially extinct when local people are forced to work in the tourism industry for higher pay

On the other hand, travelers can not only bring economic but also cultural merits to a country. Tourism has become the backbone of many economies in the world since it brings more job opportunities to indigenous people. Specifically, tourists spend money on a wide range of services, including hotels, amusements, transportation and food, thus, more demands are made in correspondence with the employment rate, greatly supporting the economy. Furthermore, via tourists, many countries can effectively promote their national identities or natural beauties that they are endowed with to a larger scale of people. Particularly, once travelers arrive back at their home, they usually express how they feel or what they saw in their previous trip, which can arouse the curiosity of their family and friends

To conclude, despite the fact that tourism can be the main cause of many issues associated with the environment and culture, it has an extremely positive influence on the economy and provides a country with more chances to promote uniqueness and images as well. Therefore, I suppose that the advantages of tourism can outweigh its downward side