A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not managed correctly. Describe the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world. Do you think that benefits of tourism outweigh its drawbacks?

Nowadays, tourism gradually becomes the main financial-providing source in several countries, however, there are still disadvantages if it is not controlled correctly. In my opinion, this business can bring many benefits to the country’s economy and job employment, which overwhelm its drawback.

To begin with, over the last few years, people tend to travel to different countries on holidays. As a result, it brings some advantages for the country. Firstly, tourism boosts the country’s income. When traveling, tourists will spend a large amount of money on several things, for example, hotels, tickets, cuisines, and many other fees. These services include tax and the government can earn profit from this. Secondly, the job opportunities for citizens will increase through the tourist industry. To be more specific, the increase in the number of tourists leads to a rise in the demand for accommodation, transportation, and food. Therefore, individuals in host countries can focus on these factors to find jobs, or they can also open more hotels, restaurants to attract travelers.

However, tourism also has a negative impact on the environment. Many visitors throw garbage, plastics, and paper on the streets, beaches, or even in ecotourism areas. Obviously, indiscriminate littering will lead to air pollution and water pollution. A huge amount of waste will make the surrounding environment stink, and water sources will be filled with garbage and cannot be used anymore. Unfortunately, tourists will not think about the problem they cause and it will become worse if the government does not have a solution to manage.

To sum up, tourism has several positive effects, such as economic growth and job employment, which overshadow the downside on the environment.