A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not managed correctly. Describe the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world. Do you think that the benefits of tourism outweigh its drawbacks?

In the modern world, tourism has become a key financial contributor to the development of many nations. This may bring several beneficial impacts on the economy growth or job creation for those, but I am personally of the opinion that they do not really overshadow the disadvantages if it is not efficiently controlled.

Firstly, the main reason why tourism would positively affect the host countries in such situations is its economic boost. This industry is a wide-ranging business including loads of service fees for visitors such transportation, accommodation or cuisine. The government can profit from them to facilitate other development in terms of education, healthcare or infrastructure. Besides, more job opportunities are available as the results of the country’s business-developing concentrations. Not only is more working demand opened for residents but also the options are increased when the investment from many organizations is poured into, especially in the rural areas. Therefore, the average living standard is improved as proof of tourism’s role when countries take it as a main source of income.

However, environmental effects are worth-concerned in case of inappropriate industry management which make the drawbacks cannot be overwhelmed by its advantages. On the tourist level, littering is inevitable unless there are suitable management policies and closely supervised by the host nations. Air and water pollution would surely be a big problem for the whole planet in the long term. Additionally, over-exploitation and over-construction also cause a detrimental effect on the ecosystem from the host party perspective. For example, too many facilities are built to serve the touristy areas which is synonymous with the restriction of wildlife habitats and the loss of ecosystems diversity will take place sooner or later.

In conclusion, taking tourism as the major source of income in lots of places could be advantageous for the economy as well as the citizens’ lives but they are not superior to the downsides while the environment should be considered.