A lot of young people do not know how to manage their money when graduating from high school. What do you think are the reasons? What can be done to teach them this important skill?

In contemporary society, many young people are unable to manage their money and lack financial management skills towards both theoretical and practical aspects. There are many forces that foster the consistency of the problem that can be analyzed and addressed separately. This essay will present an overview of causes and potential solutions to this phenomenon.

Firstly, it is note-worthy that the lack of training in personal finance provided by parents is widely perceived as the main reason. Nowadays, many sociological studies have shown that although it is invisible, children and teenagers tend to imitate their parent’s shopping habits. For example, many parents prefer to spend money on shopping in leisure time rather than engage in outdoor activities in natural environment, which can affect their childrens’ habits. Secondly, another factor that has added fuel to the fire is the fact that school curriculums focused on core subjects like mathematics, science or literature and lack personal finance classes. In other words, the lack of theoretical knowledge is accompanied by the limitation of practical financial management capabilities.

In tackling this problem, some effective and feasible measures should be adopted by parents. To be specific, parents should enhance awareness of young people’s daily expenses and teach them how to use money properly. For instance, they could start by teaching their children about the consequences of misspending, which helps them to develop good saving habits. The best approach to tackle this problem is to focus on the fact that school systems should implement courses to train about personal financial management skills and guarantee that students learn basic financial literacy skills, which is a stepping-stone to independent life in the university environment.

In conclusion, the lack of parental guidance and lacking instruction at school are the main reasons. In dealing with this matter, parents and schools should play the active role as mentioned above.