The main purpose of public libraries is to provide books, and they shouldn’t waste their limited resources and space on providing expensive hi – tech media such as computer software, videos and DVDs.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement?

As common knowledge, libraries is open in order to provide readers with the huge collections of books. However, since the development of digital has become famous in recent years, modern public library now, also provides users hi-tech media including dvds, computers and CD-ROMs. Many people argue that library should function as it original purpose, which is, provides books rather than supplies multimedia facilities. In my point of view, I am dissent with such opinion.

To begin with, hi-tech library extend the readers’ selection of materials. For instant, in the pass, doing research is limited by the number of material could be used. researchers could only peruse through traditional books, magazines or printed newspapers whereas nowadays, people can use computers to search for advance information. Not only computers but also videos or dvds are considered to be useful when student does not refer sources like newspapers or magazines.

Moreover, CD-ROMs, videos or dvds are digital facilities that have an immense storage capacity. it is general knowledge that a cds can record a dramatical amount of data, at approximately from five to 15 books. Additionally, if traditional printed pages requires careful protection because paper can easily be damaged by several factors such as fire, waters or human, digital storage devices is durable. Unlike books, cds can be duplicated and restored quickly. With such advantages, these resources are more valuable than traditional printed volume as it can stored extra information, and is easily to be retrieved.

In conclusion, today library has offer people with variety means of storing information. generations do not necessary depend on certain means to spread the humankind knowledge and experience anymore. This particular trend is utile, and should be nurtured.