Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since there is computer technology. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, there is an ongoing debate regarding whether it is necessary for people to spare money for opening public libraries. Although a school of thought holds that this practice is useless and money-wasting, I would align myself with the opinion that conventional libraries ought to be maintained.

On the one hand, a vast array of factors has convinced some experts to advocate the former perception. Firstly, in this modern civilization, numerous individuals are inclined to update themselves on information via the Internet. This is because technology enables them to get access to a wide range of news in a more time-saving and convenient way compared to other othordox methods. Therefore, news readers are able to acquire a thorough understanding of events happening around the world without lavishing time on commuting to libraties. Furthermore, the facilities of some libraries now have been dilapilated, which impedes these sites from being the best choice of many readers. This could be perfectly exemplified by the fact that some libraries in Ho Chi Minh city are not refurbished and installed air-conditioning systems. Thus, individuals tend not to go to public libraries.

On the other hand, there are a host of compelling justifications persuading me to concede that libraries should be maintained. The first reason stems from the fact that traditional libraries are places where books whose contents are verified deliberately are stored. For instance, the library of Vietnamese Education Ministry, located in the heart of Ho Chi Minh city, offers readers a great number of credible books written by prestigious authors such as Lenin or Stephen Hawking. By getting access to public libraries, those having passion for reading are capable of gaining true and reliable knowledge. Moreover, libraries create a conducive environment for studying and relaxing owing to the fact that most of public libraries are located in positions which are not affected by noise. Hence, quietness in these places can not only help individuals to relieve their tension and anxiety but also assist them in devoting more focus on learning.

In conclusion, explicitly, it is indisputable that public libraries are not as prevalent as they were in the past as many people now prioritise to approach to news via the Internet; nevertheless, I want to assert that these sites need to be opened to statisfy the demands of many individuals. Besides that, from my perspective, it is much better for authorities to place more emphasis on enhancing the quality of public libraries.