Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since there is computer technology. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In contemporary time, people claim that acquiring information on the Internet is more useful than that in the past, and public libraries are no longer necessary. While I agree that online sources of information have some advantages rather than traditional libraries, I would argue that there is still a great need for libraries in today's world.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that Internet-based platforms and devices empower users via the blink of an eye access to an abundance of information and data, serving them to retrieve desired information beyond the constraints of location. Another merit worth mentioning is satisfying the quest for knowledge of busy book readers, meaning that a variety of frequently updated e-books ready to be downloaded without spending hours in and out of libraries searching for relevant books. To sum up, there is a wider choice of books online for readers, as opposed to that of libraries goers, thus helping them to enrich their knowledge and understanding.

On the other hand, while this view is true in some extent, I am more convinced that government-funded libraries are greater necessity rather than a waste of money. One point is that the majority of printed books in traditional libraries would provide people with more authentic and reliable sources of data and information, serving scholars, students and scientific researchers who strict demands for data accuracy. What is more, a number of internet-based resources will be required to obtain an authorization to download, as a result they tend to scrounge in state-owned libraries. That is reason why public libraries and their sponsored book borrowing services are meaningful to readers from a disadvantaged background, ensuring equal access to valuable knowledge sources and promoting the habit of reading among the public.

In conclusion, despite the argument for government-funded libraries seem like a needless extravagance, I am of a belief that public libraries would make a stronger case because of their unique features and benefits.