The majority of news being reported is bad news such as wars, famines, accidents and crimes.

Why do you think that is?

Do you think the news should be a balance of both good news and bad news?

Newspapers and magazines are important sources of news in our modern society. However, as more and more people are concerned about bad news, unscrupulous companies find this a gold mine for their profit. Therefore, I believe that broadcasting and reporting should take responsibility to balance both good and bad news.

The development of information technology has helped journalists access to the sources of information more straightforwardly. Thus, it is easier and faster to reveal a crime or an act of damaging environment than in the past when people could not get to know anything from a distance. Besides, some newspapers are also the culprit for disseminating unfortunate news. Bad news such as innocent people suffering during wars tends to have strong emotional effects on readers, and consequently, it is more effortless to engage readers with tragedy than happiness. Media companies see that as an opportunity to boost the number of viewers and thus earn more money. In other words, they report more negative news because they want to manipulate it to match readers´ interests.

In my opinion, a legitimate news source should tackle everyday issues from the corrupted government to successful charity services. Tragic stories are to remind us of our responsibilities for what happens around us. Moreover, they help us to be aware of our current situations and get us motivated to change for the better world. At the same time, good news gives us hope and confidence about the future. Bringing readers´ attention toward success stories not only makes them feel more optimistic and encouraging but it also inspires them to do the right things for society.

In conclusion, to my mind, a considerate amount of bad news reported is partly because of some newspapers of greed and avarice. For this reason, I would argue that a reliable source should contain both negative and positive side of information.