Many adults nowadays prefer spending their free time playing computer games.

Why do they do this?

Is this a positive or negative development?

It is true that an increasing number of grown people tend to play computer games during their free time. From my perspective, I believe that this is the development of the digital revolution, and it will create some negative impacts on individual’s lives regarding their health and their social relationships.

Having advanced technology can be seen as the primary reason derived from this tendency. In the past, people must use computers to enjoy video games, but now computers can be replaced by modern devices regarding smartphones, laptops, and tablets. To elaborate, by using these convenient devices, adults are able to play the same essential games everywhere they want and this means they are likely to become addicted over time. For example, white-collar workers are capable of playing games on their phones while on the commute to work, on a breaking time, or even during working time.

There are some negative influences including human health and social relationship. To begin with individuals' health, by keeping the sedentary habit, adults tend to spend all their leisure time playing games without cherishing the opportunity to enjoy the natural atmosphere or do physical activities. This can result in health conditions, so young adults faced many illnesses namely obesity, myopia, or even cancer. In terms of surrounding relationships, before computer games became a pervasive habit, individuals were more likely to gather with their family or have communication with their friends. However, in contemporary life, adults are immersed in playing video games which can weaken the bonds of a close-knit family and mutual understanding in friendship.

In conclusion, due to the development of the electronic industry, adults have become addicted to computer games and this is harmful as it fosters passivity. Therefore, I suppose that it will be positive if they can set limits for themselves