Many adults nowadays prefer spending their free time playing computer games. Why do they do this? Is this a positive or negative development?

In recent years, a plethora of young generation over 18 years old are investing most of their spare time to play video games. This can be elaborated by the reason of their larger interest spent on computer games and it can become an adverse aspect for financial and social development due to lack of the knowledge derived from these adults.

The illustration behind this phenomenon is that they have a big passion for playing video games rather than doing outdoor activities within their free time. The computer games contain content that stimulates curiosity for players and takes them to spend more time playing. A bulk of adults can be easily caught up in playing these games as they want to conquer these games’ curiosity, from that, anytime when they have free time, they can immerse in it.

However, it can be a significant problem that affects financial and social development. Playing video games in their free time can cause addiction in adults, thus, they can spend more time playing rather than doing other such as studying or participating in several outdoor activities. This is leading to several young adults having insufficient practical knowledge and skills that cannot be assimilated through video games. As a result, these workforces cannot contribute to the development of finance because of inadequate empirical knowledge. Besides, spending much time in computer games can be detrimental to their cognitive thinking and make them behaving several violent activities imitated. Several young adults, for example, are prone to become aggressive after they play computer games. If they are playing video games, immediately controlled by their parents, they will not be able to think of anything else games and can implement violent behaviors on their parents. This can have a consequence for economic and social advancement while they can still be workforce.

To conclude, preferably investing most of their free time in young adults computer games can be explained by the interest they spend in games being bigger than other activities, therefore, it can become a disadvantage for national financial and social development.