Many adults nowadays prefer spending their free time playing computer games. Why do they do this? Is this a positive or negative development?

In recent years, a plethora of young generation over 18 years old are investing a significant amount of their free time playing video games. This can be elaborated by the reason of their larger interest spent on computer games and it can become an adverse aspect for financial and social development due to lack of real-world knowledge and practical skills.

The illustration behind this phenomenon is that the allure of video games draws these adults away from outdoor activities. The computer games contain content that piques the curiosity of players and takes them to spend more time playing. A bulk of adults can be engrossed in playing these games as they strive to conquer these games’ curiosity, which results in increased time spent playing.

However, it can significantly impact financial and social development. Prolonged gaming can lead to addiction and prevent them from engaging in studying or participating in other activities. As a consequence, they may have insufficient practical knowledge and skills for real-life situations, ultimately hindering economic development. Additionally, excessive gaming can be detrimental to their cognitive abilities and make them behaving violent activities imitated. Several young adults, for example, are prone to become aggressive after they play computer games. If their gaming is immediately controlled by their parents, they may not be able to think of anything else and can exhibit violent behaviors towards their parents. This can have a consequence for economic and social advancement as they may struggle to enter the workforce.

To conclude, preferably investing most of their free time in young adults for computer games can be attributed to their strong interest in games compared to other activities. However, this preference can have negative implications for national financial and social development.