Many believe that it is important to protect all wild animals, while others think that it is important to protect some, not all of them.

Discuss both views and give your opinion

The scope of wildlife preservation has been a topical issue in recent years. While some people maintain that it ought to be selective, others stress that the entirety of wild animals deserves such protection. This essay aims to shed light on both viewpoints before arriving at a final conclusion.

On one hand, diverting resources to certain animals can be justified by circumstantial factors. Forefront among which is the fact that some animals are endangered and without human interference, they will go extinct. Tigers and elephants are such species and need intensive conservation efforts, unlike rats and pigeons, which have skillfully adapted to widespread urbanization. Most would also agree that it is not sensible to give all animals the same kind of protection regardless of their specific circumstances. A more extreme critic may even suggest that some animals are more worthy of conservation endeavors because of their value. Tigers and elephants, to continue the previous example, are known for their majestic beauty. Other animals such as bees are also part of the conservation scheme not for their appearance but their usefulness to humanity.

On the other hand, protecting the totality of wildlife is advocated because humanity is often cited as the catalyst for the endangerment of multiple species. Prior to the industrialization and surging populations in recent centuries, humans and other animals lived on relatively equal terms and shared the Earth. As human developments outpaced nature and decimated other species, it is the duty of mankind to safeguard other animals. Without such a forward-looking approach, there is likely to be a domino effect as species die out and impair fragile ecosystems globally. Therefore even if an animal is not endangered, it is vital to maintain its population levels so as not to trigger a cascade of irreversible ramifications.

Having examined both points of view, I concede that all wild animals deserve to be protected, although there should be occasional shift of focus to species that are on the verge of extinction. Ultimately, this helps to safeguard biodiversity from unduly succumbing to human progress.