Many childhood diseases can now be prevented through the use of vaccines. Should parents be made by law to immunize their children against common diseases or should individuals have the right to choose not to immunize their children?

It is a proven scientific fact that vaccination is an effective means of preventing various children’s diseases. However, there is a contentious argument over whether that children vaccination should be mandatory or optional. This essay will examine this question from both points of view and then will explain why mandatory vaccination is more beneficial than the other.

There is an idea which argues that matters like vaccinating children should be optional. This is because, it is believed this matter is related to the most fundamental human right which is freedom. People should feel free to decide about vaccinating their children. They must be informed about side effects and benefits then they can make a decision for their offspring to receive vaccine or not. A good example is covid-19 vaccines, these are produced using new technology and their side-effects are yet to be discovered. Consequently, many individuals are refusing to take the shots for themselves and their children because of this ambiguity.

On the other, it is widely accepted that vaccination should be compulsory especially for children. Scientists have discovered that children are more susceptible against various harmful bacteria and viruses due to their incomplete and weak immune system. To make their defense system resilient against different illness, they should be vaccinated from an early age. However, if it is left to parents, they may choose not to immunize their children which will put endanger children’s lives. A good illustration of this is a partially vaccinated school, one of those who are not vaccinated may get serious disease and can easily transmit to others. And then they can carry the virus home and endanger their parents’ life. It is believed it may trigger a serious disease outbreak. As a result, it is vital to vaccinated every member of society including children.

In conclusion I tend to believe both arguments have their own merits. On balance, however, both society and children can benefit more from making children vaccinate shin mandatory.