Many of the cities are currently facing a serious housing shortage. What are some of the reasons for this shortage and what solutions can you suggest?

Nowadays, lacking accommodation in cities has become an increasing phenomenon globally. Resulting in this problem, there are several reasons involved. However, I do also believe that the decrease in housing can be tackled with some suitable solutions.

Firstly, overpopulation is the root of the growth of housing demand. This is because the population nowadays is out of the government’s control, keeping going up at an alarming rate while our Earth remains its size stable with a maximum quantity of land. Secondly, this issue is also attributed to the tendency of people’s migration. Those in the countrysides, in detail, are willing to move to the metropolis to search for better job prospects and house-hunting. Thirdly, the lack of land is one of the causes drives in the shortage of housing options. To be exact, land which is finite is now used for various development purposes. Some construction companies, for instance, proposing to destroy residents’ houses to build entertainment centers, factories, and skyscrapers.

On the contrary, government intervention is essential in dealing with this housing crisis. One of the most efficient solutions could be reducing the gap in the population between rural areas and urban ones. This suggestion can be conducted by taking the economic potential of suburban fully and restricting residents’ movement to the city. Additionally, instead of establishing detached houses that take up a lot of land, the government can construct land-efficient models of public buildings such as halls of residents, apartment blocks, or complexes where numerous citizens can live together.

To conclude, the scarcity of accommodation is becoming more and more noticeable on a global scale. With these aforementioned ideas, I cite that this housing crisis is resulted from several causes and could be solved by suggested solutions.