In many cities, there is a lack of space to develop and as a result, in order to modernize, old buildings are demolished and replaced with new buildings.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of knocking down old buildings?

space: pre-wrap;">In this day and age, with the rapid growth in the world’s population, finding enough space to erect new skyscrapers and high-tech buildings has been a gigantic problem, considering the tiny amount of land the earth offers. one solution has been put forward, which is to demolish the former buildings and replace them with modern ones. this essay is aimed to shed light on the merits and demerits of this way of resolving the issue.

space: pre-wrap;">On the one hand, undeniably, knocking down buildings which have run out of fashion does have some significant benefits. Limiting the amount of money spent on constructing is one of the major advangtages, as buying, along with seeking for space to introduce up-to-date establishments requires a huge amount of cash and effort. furthermore, myriad old buildings are extremely fragile and sometimes act as a hazard to the local citizens. removing them and building modern ones would not only upgrade citydwellers’ life, due to the variety of facilities it offers, but it would also increase the safety of their neighborhood.

space: pre-wrap;">On the other hand, in spite of the merits mentioned above, there are still certain drawbacks of demolishing old buildings. Firstly, in the case that those old buildings contain historical values, pulling it down would be equal to destroying a historical site or maybe, a city’s identity. For example, if a city is known for having the first theatre in the world, it being torn down also means that the city no longer has that identity. furthermore, provided that those old buildings boost the region’s tourism, removing those would lower the rate of potiental visitors to that region.

space: pre-wrap;">In conclusion, there are certain drawbacks to flatten an ancient building and erect a new one, as well as benefits. Thus, considering these two aspects and making wise decisions eventually comes down to the hand of the local goverment.