Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar.

Do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, with the alarming rate of obesity and other fatal ailments caused by consuming sugary products, myriad people believe that it is essential that those products’ price be increased, in order to lower the level of consumers. However, I completely disagree with this argument, considering its downsides and the fact that there are still far more effective solutions to this issue.

To begin with, it is crystal clear that sugary products, such as soft drinks or fast food, or even pastries are the main cause of people being overweight, which later leads to hazardous diseases. Evidently, it is high time that we did something about this matter. Nevertheless, raising their prices is not an ideal solution. there are two main reasons for my disagreement with this way of solving the mentioned problem. First, because of the fact that products which contain much sugar are one of the main dishes in every meal and often delicious, it would be unreasonable to make them become expensive food, especially for families who are on a tight budget. Furthermore, consuming sugar is not harmful until it reaches a certain amount. consumers can be advised to limit their usage, which will not affect their health.

In addition, there are more ways to solve this problem. one of these ways is to raise people’s awareness about the harm of eating too much sugar. For instance, students in Japan, from a very young age, are taught to eat healthily, with their school menus always full of nutritious dishes. Additionally, talks about the rebels on each product can be held, as most food consumers do not know about this information.

In conclusion, I opine that sugary products should not be made more expensive, as other steps could be made to improve global health. Instead of raising the price, we can educate children or give adults an idea about what the rebel says, in order to improve their activity in protecting their own wellbeing.