In recent years, pressure on school and university students has been increasing and they are pushed to work very hard from a young age. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In this day and age, more and more students are forced to study in a very hectic schedule, as academic performances are now seen as the most vital quality to judge an individual. Burning the midnight oil everyday is no longer unfamilar. Although studying does play a prominent role in one’s life, in my opinion, today’s youth would be dangerously affected if people continue to bring them up in such pressure and stress.

To begin with, if students continue to study recklessly, they will lose their childhood and be forced to grow up too fast. Being raised in a competitive environment, they will not have any hobbies or interests. Their only activity will be sitting at school and tutoring centers, learning subjects which they usually dislike, participating in the trophy race. Furthermore, provided that they were pushed to their limits, all feelings that they kept inside would burst out, which would worsen their health and cause serious ailments, for instance, obesity and depression.

Additionally, one who only knows to study is considered a nerd. In other words, they would not pay attentino to other moral values such as love, kindness or proper manners. All they care about is winning, achieving and success. Lacking human skills would be a barrier for them to get a job or communicate with other people in social communities.

In conclusion, despite the benefits of acquiring knowledge, parents and teachers should not compel students to study. Besides studying, it is advisable that they encourage students to enjoy their hobbies and develop relationships, as well as other soft skills. In that case, students will have more opportunities to find their ego, pursue their own interests and express themselves as both a street smart and a book smart.