In recent years, pressure on school and university students has been increasing and they are pushed to work very hard from a young age. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In this day and age, more and more students are forced to study in a very hectic schedule, as academic performances are now seen as the most vital quality to judge an individual. Burning the midnight oil everyday is no longer unfamilar. Although studying does play a prominent role in one’s life, in my opinion, today’s youth would be dangerously affected if people continue to bring them up in such pressure and stress.

To begin with, students who study recklessly from an early age are most likely to lose their childhood or innocence quickly. being raised in a competitive environment, they do not have any hobbies or interests, because of the fact that their only activity is sitting at school and tutoring centers, learning subjects which they usually dislike, participating in the trophy race. Furthermore, students who are pushed to their limits will suffer from illnesses such as obesity, fatigue or depression, due to the heavy and constant work loads.

Additionally, one who only knows to study is considered a nerd. In other words, they would not pay attention to other moral values such as love, kindness or proper manners. All they care about is winning, along with being academically good. Lacking human skills would be a barrier for them to get a job or simply, to communicate with other people in social communities.

In conclusion, despite the benefits of acquiring knowledge, parents and teachers should not compel students to study. Besides studying, it is advisable that they encourage students to find hobbies and develop relationships, as well as other human skills. In that case, students will have more opportunities to find their ego and express themselves as both a street smart and a book smart.