In many cities, there is little control on the design and construction of new homes and office buildings, and people can build houses in their own style. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a situation?

it is true that people who lived in the cities can build the ideal houses and office buildings by joining in the design and construction process. Although this may have several advantages, I believe that the drawbacks may greater than the benefits.

On the one hand, joining in the design and construction process could help the owner build their ideal houses or office building in some ways. Firstly, the owner who participate in the design process could have their own style house by giving their ideas into the blueprint of the building. secondly, by joining in the construction steps, the owner or the investor can minimize the cost of the building and supervise the whole process more carefully. For example, in many Asian countries, there always have some citizen who really want to build their house in traditional way, in order to do that they take a little control and design the building in their own style.

On the other hand, I would argue that these benefits are outweighed by the drawbacks. The first prominent justification is that the building might not reach the standard quality, especially the office building because the owner doesn’t have enough experiences in architecture and this is also really dangerous if the building wasn’t built perfectly. secondly, the building might not be as beautiful as the owner imagined because their ideas are not suitable for the whole building. For instance, the office construction must be built in the technical way to ensure the quality reached the highest level.

In conclusion, for the reasons mentioned above, it is obvious to acknowledge the dominant drawbacks of this proclivity, but the possible benefits of the joining in design and construction process to build the ideal houses and office building should not be overlooked.