In many cities the use of video cameras in public places is becoming more popular, but some people are against these measures.

Do the benefits of CCTV outweigh its drawbacks?

These days, it seems that more and more CCTV systems are installing in public places in many cities than ever before. Personally, I believe that there are both social and safety factors that account for this change, and I would argue that this change has much more beneficial impacts than adverse impacts.

On the one hand, the opting of using video cameras to monitor public areas might be disapproved by many people for some reason. First, the proliferation of CCTV cameras invades privacy, in the sense that people are constantly watched and every different movement of each person is recorded instantly by authorities. Therefore, they find this instructive and feel that their individual freedoms are controlled and curtailed by states’ governments. Another issue is that video surveillances require considerable financial costs for investment and maintenance that governments have to pay to provide in lieu of spending the expenditures on educational purposes and infrastructural facilities.

On the other hand, I suppose that the advantages of video surveillance overshadowed its disadvantages by positive influences. The key objective of using video cameras in public places is to deter criminals and to prevent crime. Specifically, a research that studied the rates of the offenders in public areas indicated that since the CCTV cameras have been installed, there is a significant decrease in the number of crimes happened in the streets. At the same time, when crimes are committed, polices can easily track down evidences by using video records in order to catch and prosecute offenders. Therefore, video cameras offer valuable support to make cities much safer for inhabitants of those cities.

In conclusion, it seems to me that the possible benefits of installing video surveillance in public areas are more significant than the negative effects.