Many companies invest their money in sports games for advertisement purposes. Some people think it is good for the sports world, while others believe that it has some disadvantages. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The trend towards allocating resources to advertisement in the sports industry is gaining popularity in the business world. Notwithstanding the commercial benefits for economic entities and financial advantages for sport games organizers, I contend that this is a negative development and directly affects the purity of sports.

For one thing, the heavy investment from private organizations has eliminated financial constraints for the match creators in many aspects. Specialized sports equipment such as sportgears and sportswear are now sponsored by private sectors, who could also be actively involved in upgrading sport amenities such as stadiums. This support will provide the best conditions for the athletes to participate and offer the spectators a sense of satisfaction while immersing in the sporting spirit of live matches with comfortable seats and full of services. Labels in billboards around the arenas or product placement such as on players' uniforms could instill in the viewers the brand’s name, which is profoundly beneficial to the businesses’ reputation during market expansion.

For another, I believe that mass collaborations with individual companies could entail a reduction in focus on the actual sport. The inherent intangible purposes of traditional sports games are players’ happiness when reaching the pinnacle of sports and competitive attitudes towards others. However, the rapid commercialization has turned matches and events into opportunities to advertise products and promote brand awareness. Viewers’ experiences are now disturbed with overbright players’ jerseys or advertisement bombardments by posters around the stadium. Furthermore, players are profit driven when celebrity endorsement is a lucrative industry, providing ample opportunities to enhance their images as brands are in need of representative faces. However, this could affect their sporting spirit and professionalism, gradually losing interest in the games comparing the salary of a sportsman with an illustrious star and finally result in poor quality games for viewers.

To conclude, regardless of the financial benefits for the organizers, I believe the true value of sports could be threatened by commercialization. There should be a limit on advertising in order to maintain the spirit of sports and to gear public attention towards sporting pursuit.