Nowadays, many people cannot read or write. What problems does this

cause? What measures can governments take to solve these problems?

In this age, a section of the world population is suffering from illiteracy. There are indeed some ramifications of this phenomenon and steps should be taken immediately by governments to resolve this pressing issue.

For one thing, those who are unable to perform basic writing skills could encumber themselves from receiving their rights when it comes to bureaucracy. In some countries, individuals must submit application forms to register a social welfare program sponsored by the state, especially the elderly, whose livelihood largely depends on this source of income. In this sense, if their information are not delivered in written form, they would be excluded from the offered benefits, which is disadvantageous if applicants are incapable of writing. Other procedures also involve documents to serve as testament of parties’ approval in the form of signature. Given the absence of understanding about the presented information, their advantage would be easily taken by the others, which is also miserably unfortunate with regards to their own rights.

For another, some measures should be adopted by the authorities to alleviate the situation. Firstly, formal education in public school should be offered free to individuals coming from poor financial backgrounds as their financial capacity is usually incompatible with the study costs. Focusing on the disadvantaged not only allows state to get to the root of the problem but also promote social equality since children are admitted to schools without concerning the discrimination in terms of finance. Furthermore, government departments must employ staff who have specific responsibility for helping illiterate people to cope with the confusing mass of official paperwork. This could fully safeguard the dweller’s benefits as they would not lose the welfare rights to which they are entitled.

To conclude, there are reasons for the emergence of illiteracy. Nonetheless, the suggested initiatives could combat this issue, given the financial and human resources are appropriately utilized.