Many countries aim to improve their living standard by economic development, but some important social values are lost as a result. Do you think the advantages of economic development outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that many nations focus on economic growth to advance citizen’s quality of life. However some people believe that this financial improvement has negatively impacted on the traditional values of society. From my point of view, although I agree with this view to some extent, I maintain that the benefits of prosperous economy can overcome its drawbacks.

To begin with, the disadvantage of economic advancement is the loss of socials value. In fact, competition and passion to earn more money make people spend most of the time working which lead to isolation of social interaction. Thus, parents would have little opportunity to take care of their children so the value of a close knit family is neglected. As a result, the lack of affection urges them to fall into the traps of society, tends to violence and eventually involve in antisocial activities.

On the other hand, stable growing economy brings positive impacts on fulfill the desires of inhabitants such as expanding the job market and improve the quality of facilities. First of all, the financial development brings better job opportunities for workers and employees. This is due to the expansion of business markets and trade increase the demand for labor sources of enterprises. Furthermore, with the strong finance, the governments can invest more money to upgrade the facilities. For instance, thanks to economic growth, Vietnamese government in cooperation with foreign investors has developed an elevated railway system to facilitate citizen’s travel, along with schools for youngsters in remote areas.

In conclusion, every country needs to toward financial advancement on account of its considerable advantages for social community. It is advisable that the governments should not be so concerned about boosting the economy that it ignores the preservation of the beauty in social culture.