In many countries, fast food is becoming cheaper and more available.

Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvanatages?

In this day and age, fast food joints are ubiquitous and the food is becoming reasonable and accessible to everyone. Although this can be an advantage to some people, I am convinced that it is more detrimental than beneficial to the public.

It is often claimed that the popularity of the fast food is a huge positive point to eaters for one main reason: it is easy to be prepared. Today’s society is full of workers at a fast pace and workaholics; therefore, there is a shortage of time for meal preparation. Making a decent meals in the morning seems not to be a good choice for the hasty employees. Instead, a hamburger or hot dog at a drive-through vain appears to be more ideal in this case. Another situation is that after a tiring day of engrossing work, most people are too exhausted to cook a nutritious dinner. Fast food items are opted for as a perfect alternative. Thus, the fact that this kind of food is widely available and cheap is advantageous to a certain extent.

Nevertheless, we cannot deny the drawbacks of an excessive fast food intake into the body. To begin with, physical and mental health would suffer. According to scientific evidence, consuming a large amount of fast food over a long period of time is the primary cause of chronic bone inflammation and cardiovascular diseases, shortening the patients’ lifetime. In addition, the fast food is heavily addictive, making eaters depend on it during their active intervals. If the addicts do not consume the food when the urge is coming, they cannot focus on task effectively, and thus diminishing labor productivity. Another negative point is that the junk food induces an extravagant expenditure if bought in the long run. It is generally thought that this type of food helps save personal and family budgets as they are at a regular discount. However, the total cost is beyond this since the purchase of the fast food is on a frequent basis, resulting in a prohibitive cost in the end.

In conclusion, the prevalence and inexpensiveness of the fast food cannot compensate for the negative effects they exert on consumers.