In many countries imprisonment is the most common solution to crimes. However, some people believe that better education will be a more effective solution. To what extent do you agree or disagree?
When it comes to preventing crimes, there is a controversy among if people need to be
punished, or only educational methods are enough. Looking at some evidence in the past,
everyone can see clearly that most of the crimes were reduced by laws or rules, which
eventually end up with punishments. That is why imprisonment plays an important and
efficient role in controlling crimes in countries.
Speaking of learning from failure, no one can deny the positive effect of punishment
that it can help people be aware of their own mistakes. To be more specific, take an
exceptional student as an example because needless to say, a school is just a small
society with all of the necessary components. In every school, all students will be
taught how to behave reasonably and acceptably. They will also be given some laws and
rules that they should follow in order to maintain a smooth educational environment.
Those students all understand what they will face if they break the rules - an
appropriate punishment. With the help of those rules, the students will think more
carefully before crossing the line. Moreover, even when they do that, what they
receive from the related authority will become a cautious notice for the next law
violence.
Another reason for using punishment to solve crimes problem is that we - human - are
still a kind of animal with our natural instinct. In fact, it is impossible for people to
control themselves avoid our nature. No matter how much we learn or train ourselves,
it always tell us to follow what we feel enjoyable. It is undeniable that there is a big
number of talented students - who were well-educated with stable living condition -
caught by damaging both national and personal assets. Some of them were even sent to
jails for some sexual crimes. Those cases have proven that human being is not reliable.
To build a safe and peaceful country, there is a need to have a law system with suitable
punishments.
In conclusion, every country needs to consider thoroughly what they are required to
obtain their societies’ security. Obviously, laws and punishments are necessary to deal
with crime problems. It is definitely essential for everyone to have a caution and
remind for what they will gain when they violate the laws.