In many countries insufficient respect is shown to older people. What do you think may be the reason for this? What problems might this cause in society?

In many societies nowadays, younger generations tend to behave in a disrespectful manner towards the elderly. As far as i am concerned, there are numerous causes for this saddening reality and its implications are going to be tremendous, which i will discuss in this essay.

A lot of factors concerning young people's attitudes can account for this lack of gratitude. To be more specific, a growing number of individuals have an opinion that those elderly people are burdensome and worthless; their values are underestimated in an unacceptable way. When citizens of working age grow older and come closer to the stage of retirement, they begin to be counted as those who doesn't contribute anything to the financial stability but still rely a lot on the total income of the family. As a result, grandparents and other predecessors have to incur insults, scorn and contempt from others for the fact that they are no longer earning a lucrative amount of money. Their inability to make profits literally equate with lack of care and consideration for them.

Consequently, if there is no improvement in young people's perception of the merits of senior generations, a lot of problems may arise. For instance, a community may witness a staggering rise in the cases of elderly admitted to hospitals because of the ailments related to the absence of happiness and appreciation. Besides, when a society eventually end up adopting and upholding this abhorrent mentality, the overall moral values and ethics of the inhabitants may decline. Therefore, it is true to claim that repercussions of this concerning attitude are countless unless something isdone to prevent it.

In conclusion, this apparent lack of respect compassion for the old boils down to the way the youth assess their values and importance. Besides, a range of consequences resulting from this are affecting communities, globally.