In many countries, many children are becoming overweight and unhealthy. Some people believe that the government has the responsibility to deal with it. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In light of the inexorably increasing obesity rate and unhealthy habit adoption, some people are of the opinion that the government should be responsible for addressing these alarming situations. While acknowledging the reasons for such a thinking, I would argue that each individual still has an indispensable role to play.

Granted, it is understandable why some advocate the government's intervention in the alleviation of the obesity problem. This is because the government has the power to impose strength in laws and regulations associated with the production and consumption of fast food, which is the main culprit behind the rise in overweight. Aside from this, the states can mount more health-related campaigns on a global scale, thereby nudging people towards adopting healthier lifestyles.

However, it is important to consider the potential impacts of individuals on coping with the rising tendency of being obese. If people were not fully self aware of the detrimental impacts of obesity, the government intervention would be rendered almost futile. Paying little to no attention to the impacts of these problems, people may continue to consume junk food and take no notice of what the government is propagandizing. Given this factor, the belief that individual efforts in reversing the unhealthy lifestyles and the increasing number of obese children seems perfectly justifiable.

In conclusion, while there are justifications for supporting the government’s actions to tackle the increased number of obese and unhealthy people, especially children, I would contend that single efforts from each person is still required to effectively tackle such a dangerous problem, given their self-awareness about obesity and passive habits.