Doctos role as educators

It is proposed that doctors should bear the responsibility for imparting healthcare-related knowledge to patients so that they can improve themselves. I disagree with this statement, despite acknowledging the reasons behind it.

Granted, proponents of doctors’ role as educators for patients may assert that doctors possess specialized knowledge with many years of experience regarding the healthcare realm, thereby easily aiding people in bettering both their physical and mental health. This assistance may include how to create a balanced diet or how to cope with stress and anxiety in such a competitive world. This assistance, undoubtedly, can help people improve their health more effectively. However, this perspective fails to factor in the complexity involved in such in-depth knowledge imparted by doctors, rendering this proposal difficult to achieve. Hardly understanding the knowledge required, patients cannot enhance their health based on doctors’ knowledge as a result.

Of course, there is also an argument that doctors can provide personalized health advice for each patient based on their medical conditions, ensuring a holistic approach to health improvement. For example, those who are diagnosed with cardiovascular disease can be taught the method of stabilizing their heartbeat and what should refrain from doing so as not to exacerbate the existing health problem. However, this perspective is myopic, overlooking the fact that health advice personalization can be challenging to provide for all, as each case requires a long process of examining, and researching before concluding a final and comprehensive roadmap to health enhancement. Such onus, if placed on doctors, could engender stress among them. Also, this approach may be ineffective in the long run, as doctors have other urgent problems to deal with such as operating patients.

In conclusion, while there are justifications for advocating the idea of doctors teaching people knowledge to better their health, I would contend that such a proposal will not come in handy, given the complexity of knowledge involved and the fact that specialized advice, suggested by some, will be impossible.