Some people work harder than others. Why is this? Is this a positive or negative habit?

In a globalized world, some people have a tendency to spend more time and effort working compared to others. In this essay, I would first closely outline several reasons behind this trend before contending that it is a favorable practice, if approached appropriately.

The fact that some people choose to exert themselves more can be ascribed to two primary reasons: the desire for wealth and the duty to bread the family. As for the former, a life without having to worry about money remains a dream of many for ages. In order to realize that dream, significantly more people dedicate themselves to working more. The working practice in Japan perfectly exemplifies this point. Here, people, especially the young, are often reported to take more extra working time, as they could earn more money by doing so. In addition to a hope of becoming rich, the responsibility to care for the family is another reason contributing to the increase in working hours. In fact, the onus to take care of the family are often placed on parents. They, as adults, often feel the need to ensure their children’s lives by providing them with opportunities to learn, live to the fullest, equipping them with everything based on their best ability like others. Working harder is a must to serve this purpose.

After exploring the reasons behind the rise in working time, I would argue that this is a positive habit, if managed approximately. Working for long hours can fulfill not only the wish to be wealthy, but also the responsibility to feed the whole family. However, it is crucial to consider the dire repercussions resulting from this trend. Sitting in front of the computer screens for long hours when working, for example, could lead to deteriorated eyesight, obesity, or even stroke in the worst scenarios. Therefore, balancing between work and physical exercises is required. After spending every one to two hours working, they could do some basic exercise lessons to relax their body, minimizing the risk of getting serious health problems.

In conclusion, I believe that there are two chief rationales for longer working hours, including the fulfillment of wealth and family duty. Moreover, I would contend this is a positive trend, if striking up a balance between work and physical life.