In many countries, the number of animals and plants is declining. Why do you think this is happening? How can this issue be solved?

In this modern era, there has been an alarming concern that numerous creatures are on the brink of extinction. There are several justifications leading to this tendency, and I believe that the governments and individuals can take viable approaches to this problem.

It is beyond doubt that environment pollution and human overexploitation are the chief culprits of species extinction. Evidently, in terms of water contamination, due to excessive amount of sewage and plastic packaging disposed from factories, a plethora of marine creatures have taken in indigestible components. In fact, a recent survey has indicated that plastic and toxic chemicals have entered the food chain, leading to the decline in the number of animals and plants. Additionally, soil degradation and climate change are contributory factors to extinction as the species can not adapt quickly to the increasing temperature and the desertification process. Moreover, poaching also exerts devastating impacts on the biodiversity. There is a fallacy that some particular herbs and creatures namely rhino can be used as medical treatment; thus, illegal hunting occured.

Albeit the underlying causes, there are feasible measures that the governments and individuals can take to address the predicament. Undoubtedly, only by introducing harsher punishment can the authorities mitigate the creatures’ fatality as hunters and businesses will be discouraged to spoil the nature . Take some developed nations as examples, by restrictions on commodities made from endangered species, they have reduced considerably the number of poachers. Furthermore, both people and governments should jointly shoulder the responsibility for environment protection. From the individuals’ perspective, they can engage in green activities such as beach or forest cleaning and raise awareness of others.

In conclusion, contamination and overexploitation from human are the major reasons for endangered animals and plants, and there are numerous workable approaches to the concerning predicament.