In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an aging population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an aging population outweigh the disadvantages?

The issue of higher life expectancy has been a topic of hot debate for many years. Although there are obvious benefits to society when there is a dramatic increase in the proportion of senior residents, I think that the disadvantages that the government in every country has to endure are much more enormous.

The merits of the sheer number of elder people in a society are immense. However, the main advantage of this phenomenon is the higher amount of time spent taking part in community services and volunteer work than the youth. When people have reached their retirement age, they will have an abundant time period to do extracurricular activities because they do not have to go to work. For example, in their spare time, they can become official members of local environmental protection non-profit organizations to grow trees or classify garbage. As a result, these types of work not only help the old residents become happier but they are also beneficial to our society.

Despite the advantages, I believe that there are more problems that the government has to tackle. The substantial rise in the number of people aged 60 or over has put heavy pressure on the national budgets. The government has to devote a larger budget to healthcare systems to serve the growing demand of the aging population as the elderly are susceptible to chronic diseases such as heart attacks or diabetes that will need special treatment and cutting-edge technology. Moreover, the trend of living longer can lead to an increase in the number of retired residents claiming pension benefits and a decline in the percentage of people of working age who can pay income taxes. Therefore, the central government budget will plummet.

In conclusion, the social rewards from older people can be huge but in my view, they will place a huge burden on our government and also the youngsters. Hence, on balance, the problems of the aging population outweigh its benefits.