In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people.

To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages.

Some people put forward the view that ageing population gives rise to problems for governments while others do not. From my perspective, the disadvantages of this trend, particularly a shortage of labors and health concern, can overshadow its drawback which is a lower inflation rates.

On the one hand, it is understandable why countries with a huge number of elderly people tend to suffer lower inflation rates. This is simply because most of the old people who are more likely to save up money for their next generation spend less for themselves. Thanks to this fact, the governments in nations with such high rates of old dwellers are not concern about inflation.

On the other hand, from my viewpoint, the disadvantages of old population outweight the drawbacks. Firstly, most ageing population countries are now in need of young labors. In fact, nations in such situation are more likely to hire international workers since a majority of old people are not healthy enough to get on with their jobs. For example, Japan, a country with 60% of elderly people, has spent a huge amount of money to attract foreign labours. Secondly, health concern is a problem which ageing population brings to the governments. The more people get older, the more a country spends on medical service. If this case lasts for long, there will be an imbalance in the investment for both the young and the elderly.

To conclude, the drawbacks of old population which is health problems and a shortage of labours tend to overshadow the benefit of lower inflation rates.