In many countries, people like to eat a wide variety of food that are grown in other areas. As

a result, they eat more food produced in other regions than local food. Do you think the advantages of

this development outweighs the disadvantages?

Over the past decades, daily diet has become more diversified than before with food imported for other regions. Many people prefer consuming a wide range of food from neighboring countries to those local products. Although this tendency is gaining more expand and more benefits, I believe that its drawbacks are more considerable for following some reasons.

On the one hand, it is noteworthy that there are heaps of merits for give increasing preference to food imported. Firstly, this trend could enhance the variety of foods, thereby guaranteeing the sufficient intake of nutrition. For example, those who has been living in cold areas where having the extremely weather poses a number of hardly difficulties for farming activities can consume fruits that are grown in tropical regions leading to the balance between the consumption of meat and fiber. Secondly, this development is able to impulse bilateral trading activities between different countries. By way illustration, a number of nations tend to industrialize like Japan could exchange their manufacturing industrial products with other regions in which focus on agricultural like Vietnam, result in the global trend of specialization.

On the other hand, notwithstanding the aforementioned benefits, I ague that it will be a grievous mistake to disregard its pitfalls. One of its potential harms that prolong fruit longevity, especially that perishable agriculture products, preservatives are commonly used in food processing, which poses a risk to consumer’s health, as these additives may contain detrimental substances. In addition, another problem should be taken into account is that increasing heap of exotic food is disabling the food security and self-sufficiency which make nations heavily dependent on food supply.

In conclusion, it is undeniable fact that advantages of food from foreign countries, it will be a grave mistake to overlook intangible problems as discussed above.