In many countries, people now wears western-style dress such as suits and jeans rather than traditional clothing.

Why it this?

Is this a positive or negative development?

Clothes which are produced in western styles seem to be dominated in many parts of the world. While for adults comfort of these clothes is appealing, youngsters probably choose them due to the influence of celebrities. I think, the situation far from negative, even though some may disagree.

European or American style outfits can be suitable for different age groups and because of this many people opt for them instead of traditional way of dressing. Many adults purchase this new style, as they feel comfortable in them and can wear on a daily basis. Youngsters, on the other hand, choose this type of clothing to follow their favorite celebrities. In fact, a particular design or color becomes popular among young generation, after a sportsman or well known model promotes it.

Some people may claim that this trend results in the loss of national identity, but in my view, it is not as unfavorable as they think. Majority of people wear these clothes, since they more affordable than traditional ones. In fact, providing that one wants to purchase conventional pieces of clothing, they are likely to cost a fortune. By contrast western-style jeans or jackets are mass produced and therefore, have cheaper price tags. Certainly, this is feature that is significant for most customers.

To conclude even though there is a fair chance that traditional dresses may loose their value as a consequence of this trend, I am convinced that comfortable clothing is necessary for ordinary people for every day situations. As far as I am concerned, people can wear their national costumes in special occasions, like wedding parties of festivals.