In many countries, the proportion of older people is steadily increasing. Does this trend have more positive or negative effects on society?

The percentage of aged people in many countries is steadily increasing. This issue shows there are several positive impacts such as better quality of life and many people with more expertise.

The proportion explains that life quality provides a real effect on life expectancy which always increases. It is proof of a healthy consumption pattern applied in society. A lot of people have consumed a variety of healthy foods such as vegetables and meats to fulfill their nutritional needs. For example, after World War 2, the majority of Japanese had implemented healthy habits in order to maintain their population due to the war, which had reduced almost half of the population. The behavior continues to this day in Japan, making it the healthiest country in 2023.

The benefit of the trend also illustrates that elderly individuals have more skills so they obtain a job straightforwardly. Having more experience is one of the strong reasons why some companies still place aged people in crucial positions. Nowadays, great positions like supervisor or director in some machine manufacturers are occupied by experienced people who clearly have ages above 50 years old. Such experience is important to the company because it can control new engineers and provide solutions or alternative ideas to develop the company.

In conclusion, a rising portion of older people have advantages such as there are experienced individuals and society grasp healthy lifestyle. Therefore, the authorities should take this group into consideration.