In many countries, the quality of life in large cities is becoming worse. What are the causes for this problem? What measures do you think should be taken to tackle the problem?

It is true that living standards in big cities are declining. There are many reasons for this, but this situation should be addressed by attracting locals in some practical ways.

There are two main reasons why living standard in big cities has been becoming worse. Firstly, overpopulation and migration of people from rural to urban areas are the major factors contributing to this phenomenon. Indeed, the fastest growth in population could put further strain on infrastructure and services in big cities and as a result, individuals usually could not afford basic facilities such as medical treatment, decent accommodation or cleaning drinking water. Secondly, due to hectic schedule and excessive workload, more and more people, particularly young people, do not have a chance to spend quality time with their family and friends. Therefore, it is easy to understand why citizens seem to becoming more stressful and fatigued today.

The government should take some measures to tackle this issue effectively. Firstly, focusing on the development of the countryside. By setting up business in rural areas, it would create more employment opportunities and encourage country-dwellers to stay in their hometown rather than moving to megacity for seeking jobs. Secondly, civil authority should improve the infrastructure of rural areas by widening roads, developing affordable accommodation to accommodate an ever-growing number of residents.

In sum, several factors lead to the decline in living standard in large cities. We should take effective steps, including developing countryside and improving rural area’s infrastructure to tackle this modern-day problem.