The environmental problems that today's world is facing are so great that there is little ordinary people can do to improve the situation. So government and large organizations should be responsible for reducing the amount of damage being done to the environment. To what extent do you agree and disagree?

Human kind is facing plenty of serious environmental problems that lead to the feeling of helplessness in many people. They think that there is nothing they can do to improve the situations but the government and large companies must take the responsibilities. I believe there are many things individuals can do and therefore, I completely disagree with their opinion.

It is true that the government policies and large corporation’s activities have huge impacts on the environment. The government should implement eco-friendly policies and regulations to cut down the contamination and pollution. Similarly, corporations should have a proper waste treatment system to reduce chemical hazards in the air, water and land. They should invest in alternative energy sources and organic products. These actions can reduce the damage and help to achieve sustainable development.

On the other hand, individuals can reduce the negative effects on the environment. People can change their consuming behaviours, advocate movements to protect the environment, reduce less household waste and use public transport instead of personal vehicles. People should always be aware of the consequences of their actions before making any decisions. Customers are encouraged to replace plastic material with biodegradable packing. This will eliminate the vast amount of fossil waste that is going into the food sources of animal pieces every day.

To conclude, it is the whole society’s responsibility to improve the situations and protect the environment. Government can impose eco-friendly policies, large businesses can treat industrial waste properly and people can change the way they consume goods to reduce waste.