The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society. Do you think the advantages outweigh the advantages?

People have different views about social networking site is taking place of real interaction. I am opinion that the benefits outweigh the drawbacks.

On the one hand, it is clearly that social media brings several disadvantages. First of all, a new set of communication barriers has been unexpectedly created by the employment of social network. As a result, there is a greater number of people today has trend to interact with others through messages with icon showing their emotions. This makes misunderstanding between people in society or anyone who likely tend to hide behind the text. Secondly, with the outbreak of social media such as facebook and twitter, people are more potentially disconnected. Because everyone is approachable online and not demand for visiting friends and relatives to get updated of one another. This will lead to increase the number of people have to deal with loneliness in today’s widely connected world.

On the other hand, I believe that the merits outweigh the drawbacks. Firstly, media technologies lift up any geographical barriers when people are enabled to interact 24/7 with more people than before. For example, Facebook and Twitter have become the most popular that many people around the world can be connected by a click of the mouse. Old friends who lose contact for a long time can be linked on an international social network and exchange pleasantries. The second advantage is that social networking sites are powerful tools to push the flow of information faster. For instance, breaking news is up to the minute and available for free. So that keeping abreast of what happening around us has never been simpler.

In conclusion, I believe that the benefits outweigh the drawbacks. Because it helps people remove geographical distance and get breaking news by a fastest way through social media tools.