in many countries, schools have severe problems with student behavior. What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest?

These days, it is being discussed why school students have acute behavior problems, such as school violence and truancy. This essay will provide contributing factors to the issues, then followed by corresponding solutions.

The reason for students being aggressive at school is that they are exposed to abundant violent pictures in mass media. For instance, students can have access to various violent information on TV when they are watching TV programs to relax. When they address the problems with other classmates, they are more likely to imitate what they have seen on TV in that they are lack of the ability to tell right from wrong and more vulnerable to bad influences. Therefore, school violence arises in this way. On top of that, test-oriented education at school may give rise to students playing truant. This is especially true for Chinese high schools where every teacher is concentrating on the students’ mid-term or final examination grades. Therefore, the content taught by the teachers is monotonous and students show little interest in it. In this case, some radical students may skip the class to find their own hobbies outside school.

In order to tackle these issues, several effective ways should be proposed. For one thing, the government is supposed to draw up and enact harsh laws to reduce the amount of violence in the media. The media must be censored and present programs with little violence to the children. Only in this way, can they be friendly to each other at school. For another, the government should encourage the schools to convert their current educational system into the one that students are interested in. Schools should open up several courses according to their students’ preference. With the interest guidance, students are more willing to learn at school.

In summary, the reasons for the students playing truant and having violent behavior are inappropriate schooling and violent contents in abundance on media. There are two efficient fashions to address these two issues.