In many countries, teenagers are encouraged to do part-time jobs. What’s the situation like in your country? What do you think are the advantages and disadvantages of doing part-time jobs?

Part time jobs have become far more popular than it used to be, especially amongst adolescents. In our country it is allowed to do part-time jobs, but only out of the study time. From my point of view, the advantages of doing part-time jobs are improving sense of independence and supporting the family financially and the disadvantages of it is loss of interest to the education.

It is irrefutable that working part-time may have both advantages and disadvantages. Firstly, teenagers can become more independent because they try to do everything by themselves and can learn how to be responsible. Secondly, they gain experience in terms of expending money properly in their basic needs and it is a small financial aid for their parents. Nonetheless, there might be lack of interest to the education due to passion for earning money. For instance, by trying some expensive items teenagers demand for that may improve. They usually get obsessed with earning adequate money for buying a particular product.

Currently in our country there is a big demand for part-time jobs.This is result of not only adolescents independent will but also parents encouragement. Many teenagers are embarrassed to ask money from their parents therefore they prefer to work. This embarrassment might be the cause of shortage of money in the family. Parents want their children to realise the value of the purchased items. After encountering the certain difficulties they start appreciating the hard work. For example, if they buy a computer on their own they are more likely to take a good care of it.

By way of conclusion, in Uzbekistan the attitudes of parents and teenagers towards part-time jobs are almost the same.