Some employers reward members of staff for their exceptional contribution to

the company by giving them extra money. This practice can act as an incentive

for some but may also have a negative impact on others.

To what extent is this style of management effective?

Are there better ways of encouraging employees to work hard?

In some workplaces, staff, who serve as a fulcrum of a certain achievement in companies, are usually awarded with bonuses. In my view, this rewarding system not only is a stimulus for further developments in companies, but it is likely to build strong bonds between managers and employees.

First, as money is mostly what people work for, using it as a source of rewarding will probably make individuals try harder. They may tap the allocated money for purchasing what they would not be able to buy for their fixed salaries. They can be indirectly attracted to experience the pleasure of eating costly meal once more, for example. Second, workers' attitudes toward their employers is also influenced by this system. They will possibly not see any reasons to complain, thereby having the sense of gratitude.

This system, however, neglects tens and hundreds of staff working there. Employees can be motivated by fairly distributed awards more than those given only to numbered people. Because many people get the same sort of thing, they have the opportunity to share what they feel about it. In order to avoid excessive expenditures company managers can opt for reasonable things. Apart from that, the way employers treat people under their control can both increase and lower productivity. Trusting, seeking to understand and help when necessary are a huge encouragement for workers.

By way of conclusion, for the sake of avoiding a victory where some win and others lose, employers can consider rewarding more workers and recognizing some of the major principles.