In many countries, there are more people choosing to live by themselves than before. What are the reasons of this situation? Is it positive or negative to the development of society?

It is being discussed why a rising number of people choose to live on their own nowadays, such living in another house in a city and living in a distinct city. This article will provide contributing factors to this trend, then followed by my own opinion towards it.

The reason for people living in a different houses in a city is that they own different interests. For example, modern people have easy access to a variety of information on the Internet, which may stimulate their interests in distinct things. In order to better develop these hobbies, they may decide to live alone, rendering themselves a greater freedom to do what they want. In addition, by virtue of seeking better education, current young people in growing numbers have to leave their family and live by themselves in a different city. For example, if the students from the less developed countries, where education is conceivably in low quality, want to seek advanced education, they are forced to leave for the developed states, where there are plenty of prestigious universities, such as Cambridge University in London of Britain. This also contributes to the alone-living trend.

From my perspective, however, this change may bring about both positive and negative impacts to the social development. On the one hand, people are more likely to cultivate their independence. This is because living alone means that the people are required to take care of themselves, which may help them accumulate plenty of independent skills in the society. Obviously, independent citizens may reduce the burden of the government for they may be less likely to rely on the society when they run into difficulties in life. On the other hand, the relationship between family members can be undermined by this situation. In general, living independently may definitely cause family to communicate less frequently because they are not usually staying together, and then to have less knowledge of one another. In the end, family members may suffer less close family bonds.

In short, two reasons result in the phenomenon of more people living by themselves, which may bring pros and cons to the society.