In many countries, there are more people choosing to live by themselves than before. What are the reasons of this situation? Is it positive or negative to the development of society?

Nowadays, a rising number of people choose to live on their own nowadays. At the same time, however, there is some uncertainty as to the causes of this phenomenon, and how it might influence social development. In this essay I will examine the issue and seek some possible effects.

To begin with, in regard to causes, it is undeniable that different lifestyles may give rise to this situation. For example, the young tend to stay up and get up late every day, while their parents are eager to go to bed early and rise early. In order not to be disturbed by one another, the two generations may decide to live alone, rendering themselves greater freedom to do what they want. In addition, by virtue of better education, current young people in growing numbers have to leave their family and live by themselves in a different city. A good case in point is that metropolis, where there are plenty of prestigious universities, attracts students from the less developed places to dwell.

On the other hand, as to positive impacts on the society, there will be less burden on the government if people choose to live independently. This is because living alone may help them accumulate plenty of independent skills and solve problems on their own instead of relying on the society. Nonetheless, the relationship between family members can be undermined by this trend, since they are less likely to stay together and communicate frequently.

To summarize, there is no doubt that better education and distinct lifestyles result in the phenomenon of more people living by themselves. At the same time, however, this change may alleviate social stress and harm family harmony.